Auto insurance is an absolute requirement while driving in Colorado. There may be severe consequences to driving without one. You may face several legal actions taken against you, which include but are not limited to:
- Suspension of your license
- Several fines
- Heavy penalties
- Community service
Having auto insurance in Colorado is the state law, and no one is exempt from it. The idea behind insurance coverage is to protect you and your vehicle in the event of an accident, property damage, or if someone gets hurt.
You can find different types of auto insurance in Colorado. They can be medical payments, collision insurance, gap coverage, reimbursement for rentals, or optional roadside assistance. It is essential to find a reputable insurance company that can provide auto insurance.
Severe Consequences Against Drivers without Auto Insurance in Colorado
There are many consequences for driving without auto insurance. One of the most obvious consequences is that you are stuck paying for all expenses if you cause an accident. By law, all types of vehicles have to be registered and insured in the State of Colorado before you can drive them.
It is illegal to drive a vehicle without insurance. The State can easily find out which cars are registered but not insured. As soon as officials find out that a car owner does not have auto insurance, the car owner is sent a notice. According to the law, driving without auto insurance is considered a Class 1 misdemeanor.
Here are a few common penalties for driving without auto insurance:
- At your first offense, you must pay a minimum fine of $500. In addition, the driver’s license is also suspended until proof of insurance is presented to the Department of Motor Vehicles.
- Authorities can impose four points on your driver’s license.
- At the second offense, the fine increases to $1,000, and the driver’s license can be suspended for four months.
- At the third offense, you must pay a fine of a minimum of $1,000, usually more, and your license is suspended for eight months. Additionally, you must also serve 40 hours of community service.